Ancient Family Retreats
Unique retreats for history and tradition
Palazzo Massimo - Colonna is located at the top of Piazza Ara Coeli, right in front of the two staircases leading respectively to the church of the Ara Coeli and the Capitol Hill. The original structure dates back to a fifteenth-century building built for the Boccabella family, who later ceded it to the Eustachi family; from them the property reached the Massimo of the so-called branch of Rignano, who in the seventeenth century instructed the famous architect Carlo Fontana to restore the patrician residence and to add the theatrical fountain that adorns the courtyard. The last descendant of the Massimo di Rignano brought the residence as dowry to Don Prospero Colonna di Paliano, prince of Sonnino, great-grandfather of the current owners, who from the unification of Italy (1870) has held the office of mayor of Rome for the longest time.
The palace was saved during the fascism from the demolition carried out to allow the passage of the new "Via del Mare", but suffered a cut depriving it of the part corresponding to what now appears as its corner. However, thanks to the new road created by the demolition of several buildings on the sides of the front steps of the Ara Coeli and the Capitol Hill, it has acquired from every angle a spectacular view of the city and its architectural treasures.
From its terraces, in fact, it ranges to three hundred and sixty degrees on the domes, bell towers, roof terraces and roofs of the historic center, from the Gianicolo to the Aventine, with glimpses of incomparable beauty and unique views in the world such as the Capitol Hill and the Michelangelo square.
Prospero Colonna used to go on holiday in Naples and Sorrento, also to meet with the cousins who had settled there since some time. A liaison strengthened by the marriage of the great-grandson Fabrizio with Marina d'Anna, heir of the great penthouse on the Riviera di Chiaia, splendidly overlooking the gulf of Naples and the island of Capri.
The palace, already owned by the Marquis Saluzzo, after the death of Don Gioacchino in 1874, passed to his daughter Lucia, wife of Don Fabrizio Ruffo, prince of Bagnara and from this, who divided the property, to the Rodinò barons and other families. The Rodinò kept their famous eighteenth-century porcelain collection, unfortunately lost along with part of the building in the bombing of Naples on July 15, 1943. In those years it came to the current owners.
The building that overlooks the Municipal Villa, a public park established in 1780 at the time of King Ferdinandus IV Bourbon who wanted to replicate the Parisian Tuileries, includes a small church dedicated to San Rocco, founded by the nuns of San Sebastiano in 1530. From the apartment and from the vast terrace facing the sea, it overlooks the Gulf, the Certosa of San Martino and the Castel Sant'Elmo, embraces Posillipo and the Sorrento Coast, pushing to the top of the Cathedral where Marina was baptized by the great-uncle Cardinal Alfonso Castaldo, a prominent figure in modern city history.
These ancient family residences, full of history and symbolic meanings, have recently been completely renovated and equipped with the most modern comforts and services.